The staged representation offers a systematic, structured way to approach model-based process improvement one stage at a time. Achieving each stage ensures that an adequate process infrastructure has been laid as a foundation for the next stage.


Process areas are organized by maturity levels that take some of the guess work out of process improvement. The staged representation prescribes an order for implementing process areas according to maturity levels, which define the improvement path for an organization from the initial level to the optimizing level. Achieving each maturity level ensures that an adequate improvement foundation has been laid for the next maturity level and allows for lasting, incremental improvement.

If you do not know where to start and which processes to choose to improve, the staged representation is a good choice for you. It gives you a specific set of processes to improve at each stage that has been determined through more than a decade of research and experience with process improvement.


Maturity Level 1 Initial
At maturity level 1, processes are usually ad hoc and chaotic.
Maturity Level 2 Managed (CMMI-SVC)
At maturity level 2, work groups establish the foundation for an organization to become an effective service provider by…
Maturity Level 3 Defined (CMMI-SVC)
At maturity level 3, service providers use defined processes for managing work.
Maturity Level 4 Quantitatively Managed (CMMI-SVC)
At maturity level 4, service providers establish quantitative objectives for quality and process performance and use the…
Maturity Level 5 Optimizing (CMMI-SVC)
At maturity level 5, an organization continually improves its processes based on a quantitative understanding of its bus…